Game adaptations of books and films based on them are no longer news in the world of game development. But the books written on games are still ways to surprise even an experienced bibliophile. 

To help readers not get lost in the multitude of Space Rangers fanfiction and find really decent literature, we decided to compile a selection of the best books based on games.

When compiling the list, we tried to include the best books on games, and not just cases where the game and the book share the same fictional world. The preference, of course, was given to official novelizations approved by the game publishers. 

It was such works that formed the basis of our TOP, and rare exceptions were mainly included in it in the form of bonuses. Surely, if you’d love to play some other game types, feel free to visit PA real money casino sites or consult the PA casino apps page.

Books Around The World Of Dungeons & Dragons

As much as we were tempted to include the famous series of books by Robert Salvatore about the adventures of Drizzt Do’Urden, they were written about the desktop version of D&D. 

But the novelizations of the Baldur’s Gate series of games by Philip Ethans, who before (and after) did a lot of work and on books about the ‘desktop’ version of the Forgotten Realms, fully meet the requirements of our list, because they describe, in fact, that the passage of the first two games of the franchise, as well as an add-on to BG II.

Books On The Universe Of Warcraft

As soon as the Warcraft series of games became popular, Blizzard faced a big problem. The huge lore of the gaming universe stubbornly did not want to fit into the briefings before the missions in the RTS and the dialogues between the inscriptions. 

Therefore, in 2001, a huge series of official novelizations of the world of Warcraft began, which already numbers several dozen books and continues to this day.

Of the famous science fiction writers, Richard Knaak (also known for the Dragonlance series), a prominent master of game novelizations Jeff Grubb (on account of his books on 

  • Forgotten Realms
  • Dragonlance
  • StarCraft and Magic: The Gathering) and, of course, 
  • Christy Golden (wrote books on Assassin’s Creed, Ravenloft, Star Trek, Star Craft and even Star Wars).

Books On The Diablo Universe

The main author of the novelizations of the events of the trilogy of legendary slashers can be called all the same Richard Knaak, who worked on books on the Warcraft universe. This talented and prolific science fiction writer has written 6 of the 11 official Diablo-based titles. 

The most famous of his books in this setting is the Sin War trilogy, which tells the story of the legendary battle of demons and angels for power over Sanctuary, which unfolded 3,000 years before the events of the first Diablo.

And for an even more complete acquaintance with the gaming setting, it will not be superfluous to study the famous “Book of Cain”, written in 2011 by Flint Dill. 

Game Books In The Star Wars Universe

The canon of the expanded Star Wars universe includes many thousands of works describing life in a galaxy far, far away, long before the Skywalker dynasty appeared in it. 

We are interested in those of them that were inspired not by movies and cartoons, but by the KOTOR series of games.

The best and most iconic of these books was (all of a sudden) Dark Horse Comics’ Star Wars: Knights of the Old Republic comic series that ran from 2006 to 2010. 

From more recent reading material, we can recommend the novel “Battlefront: Twilight Company” by Alexander Fried, published in 2015.

Books On The Universe Of Warhammer 40,000 And Warhammer Fantasy

More than a dozen books have been written by various authors (most of which are now part of the Games Workshop staff, especially after the story of the Fifth God of Chaos) on the gloomy world of the distant future, full of violence and horror. 

However, most of these excellent books still belong to the full canon of this meta-universe, shaped primarily by board games.

But it is precisely on the computer adaptations of the space “Wahi” that there is only the cycle “Dawn Of War”, which was written from 2004 to 2017 and currently consists of 8 books: 7 independent novels and 1 collection called “Blood Ravens”. 

Most of the books in the cycle were written by Kasserne Sebastian Goto, who also worked on other cycles in the Warhammer 40k universe. 

From the series of books “Dawn Of War” you can learn a lot about the adventures of the mysterious order of the Space Marines “Blood Ravens”, which was once created by the authors of Games Workshop specifically for computer adaptations of this colorful universe.

Greg Kees: The Universe Of The Elder Scrolls

Gregory Keys is well known to all Star Wars fans – after all, it was this science fiction writer who created books from the New Jedi Order series. He also has several works on other famous game, film and television franchises, including 

  • Babylon 5
  • Godzilla
  • Independence Day
  • Planet of the Apes, and 
  • XCOM 2.

In the universe of The Elder Scrolls, this wonderful author has so far managed to write only two books. The first of these, “The Elder Scrolls. Infernal City ”, was written in 2009. The plot of this novel begins 40 years after the end of“ Oblivion Crisis ”, when the Empire lies in ruins after the recent invasion of the Daedra and the ensuing war with the Aldmeri Dominion. 

The main characters, a young Breton woman named Anaige and her Argonian friend Light-Eye, by the will of fate, have to go on a dangerous journey through Black Marsh and Cyrodiil and try to save the world from the flying castle of Umbriel, whose appearance on the horizon is always accompanied by an attack by terrifying hordes of undead.

Books On The Universe Assassin’s Creed

In addition to Christy Golden, mentioned in the Warcraft section, authors such as 

  • Oliver Bowden (aka Anton Gill and Ray Evans)
  • Matthew Kirby (famous for the children’s novel “Icefall”), and 
  • Gordon Dougherty 

also talked about the confrontation between the Assassins and the Templars in their books. (author of many historical stories about Ancient Greece and the Late Roman Empire).

Such a different composition of authors surprisingly did not affect the harmony and internal consistency of all 10 books, the first of which was published in 2009.